The University of Cape Town Lung Institute was established in 1999. It is a wholly owned subsidiary of the University of Cape Town and is a registered as a public benefit organization (PBO).
The Institute consists of six clinical research units (CRUs) involved in the areas of Allergy, Lung infection & Immunity, Asthma & COPD, Primary Health Care Research, Child & Adolescent Lung Health, and Tuberculosis & HIV Diagnostics & treatment.
Situated on four floors on the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Cape Town, the Institute employs over 150 staff and is focused on improving priority health issues through education, research and service.